Institute of Biology  

Executive Director
Prof. Dr. Thomas Magin

General Botany
Prof. Dr. Franziska Krajinski-Barth

Plant Physiology
Prof. Dr. Severin Sasso
Senior Professor Prof. Dr. Christian Wilhelm

Special Botany and Functional Biodiversity Research
Prof. Dr. Christian Wirth

Biology Education
Prof. Dr. Jörg Zabel

Molecular Evolution and Systematics of Plants
Prof. Dr. Alexandra Muellner-Riehl

Soil Ecology
Prof. Dr. François Buscot
(joint professorship with the Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research – UFZ)

Botanical Garden
Prof. Dr. Christian Wirth (Director)
PD Dr. Martin Freiberg (Associate)

General Zoology and Neurobiology
Prof. Dr. Marc Schönwiesner

Animal and Behavioral Physiology:
Prof. Dr. Robert Kittel

Molecular Evolution and Systematics of Animals
Prof. Dr. Sebastian Steinfartz
Senior Professor Prof. Dr. Martin Schlegel

Prof. Dr. Andreas S. Thum

Human Biology
N.N. - Substitute: Dr. Wolfgang Blenau

Behavioral Ecology
Prof. Dr. Anja Widdig

Developmental Biology
Prof. Dr. Thomas Magin

last update: 14.11.2019 

Contact Us

Institute of Biology
Johannisallee 21-23
04103 Leipzig

Phone: +49 (0) 341 97 36 870
Fax: +49 (0) 341 97 36 879

Website Institute of Biology